Tangled Web

Deceptions of a transgender guy

Manna Thief

4 Comments

This is a follow-up post to the one about feeding the birds, Tuppence a bag. Again it is about birds and bees… uhm, nope, another kind of creature altogether – a Manna Thief.

Manna

The “manna”

On Sunday, B remembered that she had used the last of our birdseed the previous morning. Not to disappoint the congregation of pigeons on the roof of the neighbours’ house, watching patiently for their breakfast, she went outside and started scattering pieces of bread all over the lawn.

When she looked back, she realized that as far as she had walked, the “manna” had disappeared.  Frantically chomping up the pieces of bread like a starving puppy from a litter of 12, was Remi, our very own Manna Thief. Pigeons

Only after putting Pooch behind bars, our front door security gate, was B able to finish throwing out the bread. The “Israelites” soon descended to feast upon the manna.

Remi sleepsAfter having feasted on manna and her own (rationed) breakfast, Remi settled down for her morning snooze. She is definitely a believer of the Afrikaans adage, “When it rains porridge, dish up.” 

Notes: For some reason this incident reminded me of Desmond Dekker’s song The Israelites.

The featured image is The Gathering of the Manna by James Tissot, created ca. 1986 – 1902

 

 

Author: Kris

Hi! I'm Kris. I live in South Africa with my life partner of 27+ years, whom I call B or Madam in my posts. We have a Pug dog child, Remi, also known as Pooch, who has graced and enriched our lives for the past 12 years.

4 thoughts on “Manna Thief

  1. Cleo would do the same thing! In the meantime, I realized this morning that other than lowering my heart-rate, having birds around has another benefit. I have a lovely porch/balcony where I love to take my morning coffee and contemplate the Universe. I’m usually interrupted by various bugs, spiders and their webs, etc. But since we have resident wrens nesting in a birdhouse my daughter made, I have been unbothered by insects. This morning I watched a parent wren pick up a large spider and bring it in to the babies. And I realized I have not been disturbed by pests since they’ve taken up residence. LOVE those birds even more!

    Like

    • Cleo and Remi are both opportunists! ANYTHING that removes spiders from the vicinity of the house, is a friend of mine! Take care, Hali.

      Like

  2. Dergs – even more opportunistic than pigeons! 😀

    Like