Tangled Web

Deceptions of a transgender guy

Rooster

Leader of the Pack

6 Comments

When people grow older, they tend to become more demanding and irritable. The same seem to be true for animals – at least the one with whom I am intimately acquainted. Pooch.

Now Pooch has since her arrival in the household, always slept on the bed (and in winter IN the bed). Do I hear exclamations of shock and disgust? Dogs do not belong on beds! Go fly a kite – she is my child.

Because she is so short on her legs and has a quite hefty body, she has been trained not to jump on or off the bed, as it could cause injury to her legs. In order to get her where she wants to be, a human elevator lifts and lowers her. In the past she used to wait patiently for the elevator to get into motion, but lately she has no more patience with the slow service and will quickly demand attention with a “Njaf!”

Pugs have small teeth and being 11 in human years, Pooch cannot chew well any more, so we soften her pellets with a little hot water, which can take a while to cool off before she can eat. This is another source of irritation to her. She does not like to wait for her food. She wants it NOW! And she makes sure we know this.

“Njaf!”

“Njaf!”

“Njaf!”

Our neighbours are two elderly, childless people whom we have sort of “adopted” and Pooch gets spoilt rotten by them. She even has her own treats kept in a kitchen cupboard and starts demanding them from the second she crosses the threshold. At home her treats are kept in the lowest drawer and she can smell them, so she is constantly making us aware that she knows where they are by sitting and staring at the drawer.

“They are in here! I can smell them! I saw you taking them out! Gimme!”

Pooch drawer

At least she has not started to vocally demand that they be fed to her, but I suspect this will come soon. For now she just stands or sits in front of the drawer and … breathes. We have a standard joke that the drawer is being resuscitated again…

Yup, we are ruled by an iron paw.

Funny face, I love you.

Author: Kris

Hi! I'm Kris. I live in South Africa with my life partner of 27+ years, whom I call B or Madam in my posts. We have a Pug dog child, Remi, also known as Pooch, who has graced and enriched our lives for the past 12 years.

6 thoughts on “Leader of the Pack

  1. Gracie has me well trained. She grunts like a pig when she wants something from me, and then I try to figure out what it is. When I guess right she does a happy dance.

    Like

  2. Nice slice-of-life description of your days with Pooch!

    Like

  3. All dogs deserve to be so spoiled and loved. My Bailey sends her regards to Pooch.

    Like