Tangled Web

Deceptions of a transgender guy

Frankenstein’s Monster

12 Comments

At 22 months post my top surgery, I visited the surgeon yesterday to ask whether he would fix the dog ears at the ends of my scars and two small “pouches” in the center of my chest. I called them my tobacco pouches.

My appointment was for 16:00 and I walked into the surgery fully convinced he was just going to have a look and tell me to make an appointment at a later date to do the actual reparation work.

When the nurse told me to take off my shirt and handed me the mosquito-sized gown, I was still calm and collected.  We made small talk about the student unrest at universities. Then the surgeon walked in, greeted me by hand and said, “Ok, let’s fix you up.”

Huh? Straight away? My adrenaline levels shot through the stratosphere.

“Um, ok,” I meekly consented, thinking I might as well get it over and done with. If I had to return, my nerves might just not come to the party.

Icing syringe gun

It was this size, I kid you not!

He started coloring in under my arms and on my chest, using a purple koki pen. Then I had to lie down. My heart was repeatedly setting new Olympic records for shot put into my throat and I swallowed hard. “Down, boy!” I mentally chastised it.

Out of the corner of my eye, I could see the doctor getting a humongous syringe ready. It was almost the size of the gadget my mom used for cake decorating.

“This will only be a sharp prick and it will burn a little,” he warned. Meh! Again I was reminded of my mom, this time of her pin cushion – and the pin cushion was me. He prodded repeatedly, swapping the empty first syringe for a second one, just as huge, on the third area.

“It’s not as bad as at the dentist,” I joked, lying through my clenched teeth, trying in vain to conjure a tropical island with exotic birds in my mind. All I saw was the ceiling of the room and the massive syringe…

At last the anesthetic was pumped into the areas where he would cut. By this time my hands were playing a piano symphony of their own and I was grateful that I had to lie on them (why are the beds in operating theaters so bloody narrow?!).

The nurse smiled reassuringly at me and patted my shoulder. “You are doing fine!” She too was lying.

To take my mind off what was happening below my chin, she started telling the doctor about the student unrest I told her about. He asked me some questions about it and I croaked out answers – my vocal cords were quivering along with the rest of my body.

Soon we started chatting about other things – what surgical sutures were made of originally and how the material changed over the years. I learnt that an apocryphal explanation for the word Nylon is that it is a combination of New York and London: NY-Lon. He showed me how the needle was part of the suture. And I was still imagining surgeons threading the sutures through the eyes of needles…

Then the conversation diverged to cadavers and autopsies – right up my alley of interest in the macabre. We covered topics from grave robbers to the preservative of cadavers with formaldehyde. By then I had almost forgotten that I was being cut and sewed up and only felt an occasional tug as he tightened a stitch. I might as well have been a cadaver.

Students dissecting a cadaver, ca. 1900.

Students dissecting a cadaver, ca. 1900.

The nurse cleaned me up and dressed the wounds. The doctor said his goodbyes with a few last instructions and I could get dressed.

The bones in my legs had somehow dissolved during the past 40 minutes and I had to hold on to the bed not to topple over.

I walked out of the surgery with bandy legs, my hands still tremoring as if I had knocked back not only a few, but the whole barrel, feeling like a staggering Frankenstein’s Monster – but immensely relieved that it is over and done with!

Today I’m sore, but satisfyingly so.

Notes:

* As always, Wikipedia provides a lot of information about the history and development of sutures and surgical needles.

** From Sacrilege to Privilege: The Tale of Body Procurement for Anatomical Dissection in the United States.

 

Author: Kris

Hi! I'm Kris. I live in South Africa with my life partner of 27+ years, whom I call B or Madam in my posts. We have a Pug dog child, Remi, also known as Pooch, who has graced and enriched our lives for the past 12 years.

12 thoughts on “Frankenstein’s Monster

  1. Whoa! That’s freakingly scary!
    I don’t like surprises, but if I had to have one I’m strangely comfortable with it being something like this.
    Nice to hear your voice again, my friend!

    Like

    • Yes, if I had known, I might not have gone through with the cut and sew. Nice to hear from you too, always great to hear from one of my WordPress clan. Take care, Fredrik.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Having had gazillions of surgeries, I can relate to your terror at the ‘deep end without a parachute’ … Bravo! 😀

    The closest I came was my thyroid surgery. I was primed for 4 – 7 months wait, when a cancellation came up and I was on the table three days later.

    Like

    • Thanks, Widder! I’m proud of myself, getting through it without a whimper – but lots of tongue biting! Sometimes it is better to just be thrown into the deep end without lamenting and nail biting agony in anticipation. Take care!

      Like

  3. Nice to hear from you. ‘Ny-lon’ – who knew?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tough guys don’t need Valium, right? There’s something to be said for just getting it over with and going about your life. Congrats on getting the last bits tidied up on your chest and earning your tough guy stripes. Now you got something to brag about, and it wasn’t all that bad either. Next time you can tell them to do it without any numbing fluid (lol, joking!!!). Good to see you back here.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Oy. Like Jamie Ray my surgeon wanted me to have a ride home and gave me a sedative / anti anxiety med an hour before. Can’t imagine going in without warning and it being done. Mine happened during a blizzard and he’s an hour away. The sedative was pretty much used up for that drive I think. Good to hear from you again and read your beautiful and personal prose. Hope u r happy with the results.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Whoa! When I went for my revision the surgeon’s office was all into my having to have an adult accompany me (I would have preferred Gracie) and drive me home (hail a Taxi). They also had me take an anti-anxiety med about an hour ahead of time!
    Glad you are all patched up and ready to go – hope the scars heal nicely and that you are happy with the results.

    Like