Tangled Web

Deceptions of a transgender guy

Narrative

Narrative

20 Comments

I received Gender Failure by Ivan E. Coyote and Rae Spoon as a B-day gift (ok, I begged for it and it was one of the best Bday gifts ever!) By chance, I got hold of a link to a free pdf of Stone Butch Blues by Leslie Feinberg (It lack pages 170-171 and is a bad scan 😦 , but still – immensely powerful). That brings my reading list of trans* books up to 2. (Wincing). Yeah, I know, I need to do something about it. I want to do something about it. So, where do I start?

If you had to single out just ONE trans* related / rooted book, what will it be? (Besides the two I already mentioned). What book made a huge impact on you?

Author: Kris

Hi! I'm Kris. I live in South Africa with my life partner of 27+ years, whom I call B or Madam in my posts. We have a Pug dog child, Remi, also known as Pooch, who has graced and enriched our lives for the past 12 years.

20 thoughts on “Narrative

  1. Someone already said “Nina Here Nor There,” so I’ll contribute “What Becomes You” by Aaron Raz Link (definitely one of the most literary trans memoirs I’ve ever read) and “Gender Outlaws: The Next Generation” edited by Kate Bornstein and Bear Bergman (which I read over and over and over and OVER and really can’t recommend enough). Oh, and I liked T Cooper’s memoir too, but I read it right around the time I read “What Becomes You” and honestly it got overshadowed—it is good though. 🙂

    On the fiction side, almost anything by Topside Press (http://topsidepress.com/) is good—I’ve read “Nevada” by Imogen Binnie, which is brilliant, and “The Collection,” which is a bunch of short stories. I just bought “He Mele A Hilo” by Ryka Aoki and I’m really excited for it, and just last night a friend was gushing over Sybil Lamb’s “I’ve Got a Time Bomb.” If young adult steampunk/fantasy sounds like your idea of a good time, “Pantomime” by Laura Lam has a female-assigned intersex trans guy (maybe nonbinary?) as the main character.

    Like

  2. I just ordered my first book on trans issues today: Maxim Februari’s “De maakbare man”. Can’t wait for it to fall on my doormat. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. In addition to the above, the books I liked the best (because they were liberation oriented) are The Riddle of Gender by Deborah Rudacille (she is not transgender but is a very good science writer and her historical references are great), and Julia Serrano’s Whipping Girl (which has a terrible title and is not about BDSM).
    Thomas Page McBee’s book Man Alive is also a really good read.

    Like

  4. I agree with everyone else; I like everything by Ivan Coyote and S. Bear Bergman. Rae Spoon also has another book, a First Spring Grass Fire.

    Like

  5. Blake beat me to it with The Nearest Exit May Be Behind You, but I second that. If you ever want the missing pp. 170-171 of Stone Butch Blues, I can oblige – just let me know 🙂

    Like

  6. A couple of great memoirs that made an impact on me are “Nina Here Nor There” by Nick Krieger and “Two Truths and a Lie” by Scott Turner Schofield. “Transgender History” by Susan Stryker is also a fascinating and sort of grounding read, although it is a history book and not a memoir/novel/story.

    Like

  7. Early on I read Matt Kailey’s book “Just Add Hormones” and Jamison Green’s “Becoming a Visible Man”. Both are good books. Transpress.org has a nice but small selection of books. I read “Manning Up” and “Letters for my Brothers” and really enjoyed them. They’re both compilations of short stories by different trans men. I just bought “Love, Always” which is for partners of trans folks. Kate Bornstein’s Gender Outlaw is an interesting, but complicated read if you’re up for it.

    Like

  8. Anything and everything by Ivan Coyote. You can usually find some of Ivan’s earlier short story collections on eBay. Intersex by Thea Hillman. Freak of Nurture by fellow butch Kelli Dunham. The collection is uneven but there are some hilarious stories about being mistaken for a Boy Scout and MacCaulay Culkin. Boys Like Her.

    My all-time favorite is probably the lesbian classic Rubyfruit Jungle, which I read in my late thirties. If I had read it earlier, I think I would have come out much sooner. I’ve been meaning to re-read it. Maybe this summer.

    Happy reading!

    P.S. Yes, I am thinking of starting a book review column, too. I am just a butch of all trades these days.

    Like

  9. S. Bear Bergman, ‘The Nearest Exit May Be Behind You’. S. Bear Bergman is such a great writer, he’s definitely one of my heroes. T. Cooper’s ‘Real Man Adventures’ also means/meant a lot to me.

    Like