Tangled Web

Deceptions of a transgender guy

Chanel, um, clippers no 5

21 Comments

I had my first boy’s haircut last December. With a no 5 clipper.

I showed my hairdresser-cum-barber (unisex salon) a photo of a guy with a hair style I like and told him to shear away. And shear he did. I, who do not like people touching me or even washing my hair at a hair salon, quite enjoyed the buzzzzzzz sensation of the clipper. No 5 setting. I liked what I saw in the mirror (refer to my new gravatar).

Afterwards, when I walked out of the salon with B, the following conversation ensued:

Me: “Do you like it?”

B: “No, you look stupid. Your stomach is too big for such a short style.”

Me: (Put-off, slightly hurt – her opinion means a lot to me, thinking), Geez, that guy over there’s beer belly is a lot bigger than mine and he barely has hair!Orange with Jelly Tot on top

Me: (Having a vision of an orange with a jelly-tot on top), “Oh.”

Oh, well, pooch loves me, whether I look clipped and buzzed or wild and woolly.

Fast forward two months. I asked B to make an appointment for me at the hairdresser on Saturday, which she did.

Yesterday I said, in a by-the-way sort of tone, “I’m going to ask that he cut my hair the same as in December.”

B: “Okay.”

Me: (Stunned into silence, a while later), “Do you like it that short?”

B: “Yes.” (In an I-mean-it tone of voice)

Will SOMEBODY please write that manual on how a woman’s mind works????

Einstein did not understand women

Author: Kris

Hi! I'm Kris. I live in South Africa with my life partner of 27+ years, whom I call B or Madam in my posts. We have a Pug dog child, Remi, also known as Pooch, who has graced and enriched our lives for the past 12 years.

21 thoughts on “Chanel, um, clippers no 5

  1. I love your description of the jelly-tot (I think that’s what you called it) and the orange on bottom; orange bellies unite!

    I get a 3 on the sides and back, and scissor cut on top. I had my first haircut in a barbershop in December – very surreal!

    Like

  2. Haircuts! I had a long overdue one yesterday. I went from being a shaggy dawg to a shorn sheep on about 20 minutes. Mrs Widds always takes a little time to adjust. I think it’s the nature of the Femme. … and it’s in the femme manual. You know, the one they read in-utero! 😀

    Like

  3. Jamie used to do the same thing with me. Hated a cut initially and later suggesting I cut it that way again because she liked it so much. Fickle. I think it is all about change and fear. And quite honestly I used to do the same to her especially when she died her hair. Hated it but then you get used to it. Still prefer it undied… I think you look cute!

    Like

    • Thanks, Sky! Yes, to coin a phrase, “Fickle, they name is woman!” Hope you are enjoying lecturing. Take care.

      Like

      • 🙂 Lecturing – I do this very little. I more set the intention with my class that they read the chapters and be prepared for good discussions. So we are having great discussions about gender and all we are learning. Once I got beyond the anxiety I have around groups, it has been quite fun!

        Like

        • Ah, great. Wish I could get over my shyness and anxiety. I rather lecture than discuss, but my hearing impairment is an additional factor in discussions. If I present, I don’t have to listen! Enjoy!

          Like

  4. #3 on top, #1.5 on the sides and back, yeah mine is really short and I LOVE going to the barber….I haven’t been in a “hair salon” since I discovered the Boston Barbers shop, it’s a journey for me, I go at least once a month. Rock on!!

    Like

  5. Scissor on top, clippers back and sides.
    I think Donna and B come from the same drama school. Donna is always apprehensive of any change I make, then thinks I made a mistake, then gets used to it, then forgets it was any other way. I don’t want to always count on her adjusting, but she seems to roll with it once it is a done deal.
    Mostly I think she is afraid of the inner me changing with the outer me, or as she puts it “losing the me she fell in love with” but it no matter what I do, I still seem to end up being me again.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I am a bit weary of B getting used of things, but it does not prevent me from moving the boundaries. I agree with the drama school! Top of the class…

      Like

  6. I get a no. 4 on the sides and back, top scissor cut. Nothing like a good short haircut.

    Like

  7. Well, needless to say I like the short styles, and I’ve had men’s cuts on several occasions. When I wear my hair spiky on top, I get a #6 clip on the sides and back. I think my hair is about the same as yours right now – I am finding it’s the lack of “bangs” that gets identified as masculine (at least when combined with short hair).

    Like

    • With South African summers, short hair has an additional advantage of being cooler (in more sense than one!). I like your new look blog. A change is as good as a holiday!

      Like