Tangled Web

Deceptions of a transgender guy

Labyrinth

Maze or labyrinth?

15 Comments

January is named for the Roman god Janus, god of beginnings and transitions. He is always depicted with two faces, one looking into the past, the other into the future. Anticipating 2015, I take time to stop along my labyrinthine journey to glance at the past.

Janus

Ancient Roman god, Janus.

Dictionaries often define a maze and a labyrinth in such a way that you conclude that a maze is a labyrinth and a labyrinth is a maze. To qualify as a maze, however, a design must have choices in the pathway. Labyrinths have but one pathway that leads inexorably from the entrance to the goal, often by a complex and winding route.

“The true labyrinth has no false pathways or dead ends to confuse those who follow its winding course. Puzzle mazes in gardens … are all multicursal – many pathed – to entice and fool the visitor. Instead, the labyrinth consists of a single meandering pathway which leads inexorably from the entrance… to the centre.” ~ Labyrinthos.net

I had been fortunate in 2014 to walk two labyrinths, both after having had top surgery, and it afforded me the chance to ponder what the one labyrinth proclaimed in its center:

“Life can only be understood backwards, but it must be lived forwards.”

Center piece

“Life can only be understood backwards, but it must be lived forwards”

Had my life been a labyrinth or a maze? There had been times when I thought I had to choose between alternatives, but with hindsight I now know it had been Hobson’s choice.* (I use choice for lack of a better word.)

A careers councellor in high school told me not to pursue any career where I had to work with people or computers. It made sense at the time, as I was (still am) frightfully shy and maths was my weakest subject (at that time working with computers only entailed programming – who remembers BASIC? Is it still being used?)

My post-school choice was to study languages, Afrikaans and Dutch in particular, and to do my honours degree in General Linguistics. But this degree had no career opportunities and in a serendipitous moment I chose to do a post-graduate higher diploma in Library Science, which led to a career of 34 years (and counting) in different kinds of libraries.

My love interest at university was a Maths major and during the time we lived together, she bought a Commodore 64 computer and I was hooked. She booted me from her life (disaster turned fortuitous and pun not intended), but the computer bug had by then already bitten me.

Commodore 64

Commodore 64, 1982

Later, an autocratic manager forced another post-graduate diploma in tertiary education upon me. The carrot dangled in front of my nose, was a regrading to lecturing staff status, which never realized. I was bitter and angry, not being able to see into the future.

Today my career revolves around library computer systems and social media and I lecture to our library staff. And I love working with computers and people. Looking back at the labyrinth of my life so far, I see the need for every turn I had to make, every step I had taken.

I did not venture into 2014 intending on having top surgery at all, but it became an emotional imperative and I took another turn in the complex and winding route, one that I look back on with gratitude.

In 2014 my partner and I also celebrated 25 years together, having met the same year my ex kicked me out of her life.

I don’t know what 2015 will hold, but I do know that I will be walking my unicursal (one way in, one way out) journey with its specific beginning and definite end.

Thank you for walking along through my labyrinth – the 3 people who know my real life persona and who are and had been pillars of strength along the way, and those of you who got to know me during 2014 as Kris. I value your comments and silent companionship. I hope my posts have not only been of value to me, but to some of you as well.

All the best to you for 2015. I will be following you as you stumble and rise to continue your own long and winding journeys, while getting stronger along the way.

Take care.
Kris

*The phrase Hobson’s choice is said to originate with Thomas Hobson (1544–1631), a livery stable owner in Cambridge, England. To rotate the use of his horses, he offered customers the choice of either taking the horse in the stall nearest the door, or taking none at all. (Source: Wikipedia)

Past

Author: Kris

Hi! I'm Kris. I live in South Africa with my life partner of 27+ years, whom I call B or Madam in my posts. We have a Pug dog child, Remi, also known as Pooch, who has graced and enriched our lives for the past 12 years.

15 thoughts on “Maze or labyrinth?

  1. Best wishes for a wonderful 2015.
    I’ve never been a mathematician, but have always loved languages. I speak Dutch, English, German and French and know some Greek, Latin, Ancient Hebrew, Farsi, Spanish and Italian. Oh, also… Bargoens! 😀
    And before I forget: I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.
    Rules are in my latest blog post: http://tobeliam.wordpress.com/2015/01/05/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Like

    • Thanks, Liam, for the humbling nomination, as well as the good wishes! May you have a wonderful 2015. Phew! You speak many languages! Jy maak my sommer jaloers!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey, I only speak four. I just fumble around in the other languages I mentioned. 😀
        And you’re welcome. You earned your nomination as you truly are an inpsiration to me.

        Like

        • ONLY four! Now get out from underneath that humble cloak and take the compliment like a man! 😛 I speak English and Afrikaans very well and can still read Dutch and manage a few sentences. My grade 12 German is very rusty. I know a few isiXhosa phrases, one of the 7 black languages spoken in South Africa. I wish it was taught at school during my years, but alas, a lot of white people my age cannot understand a large group of our rainbow nation. Luckily this issue is being addressed, for the better. Let me stop now before I write an essay! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

        • And you envy me? I didn’t even know about the existence of the language isiXhosa. Who’s hiding underneath a humble cloak now? =P

          Like

        • Okay, okay, let’s just both take a bow and exit, stage left. Yeah, South Africa has 11 official languages, spoken in its 9 provinces. It is for sure a rainbow nation and the Dutch played a huge role in its development. You should come and visit! Accommodation will be provided (uhm, let me just speak to the wife on that one first! 😉 )

          Liked by 1 person

        • Oh, I’d love to come and visit. But unfortunately I really REALLY hate flying. As in: It plain terrifies me. Yep. I’m chicken when it comes to that.

          Like

  2. All the best for 2015, hopefully a wondrous journey filled with insight, love and learnings. Congrats on your 25 year anniversary! A labyrinth is an interesting view on life. I believe it is my choices that determine my path and sometimes miss that I can’t just reload from a earlier saved point and try a different choice and see where that would have taken me.

    Like

    • Thanks for the kind words, Geoff! May they come true for you as well. Yes, 25 years is quite a lifetime – some downs, more ups, but we made it so far! 🙂 Yup, I think we all wish we could have some parts of our lives to live over again – or maybe just erase some years? Al the best.

      Like

  3. Lovely post, love the concept of labyrinth verses maze. It makes a lot of sense that while we shall all take a different path the end goal is similar.

    Thinking about the future and which road to take got me thinking of a great quote from my past, courtesy of Doc Emmett Brown.

    “Where we’re going, we don’t need roads!” (sorry, could not help myself)

    Like

  4. I learned BASIC, FORTRAN, PL-1, and a bit of IBM-JCL. It is useful to learn how to program and how to think through a set of algorithms. However, I really like the concept of search engine, particularly in middle age when I can’t remember the name of anything.
    Yogi Berra (a US baseball player known for his mixed up metaphors) said “when you get to a fork in the road take it” which is how I’ve been muddling my way through – I don’t think it is pre-determined – I think we are just determined. Happy 2015!

    Like

  5. I was also quiet/shy as a student and thought I could never teach or be a leader; here I am 28 years into my own library career as a manager, public speaker, etc. You sound satisfied with the way your life is going and has gone. Happy 2015!

    Like