Tangled Web

Deceptions of a transgender guy

Barber shop

Crow(n)ing glory

18 Comments

“Some of the worst mistakes in my life were haircuts”
― Jim Morrison

 

I’ve had the same haircut for about 745 years. Well, okay, not that long, but the style hasn’t varied much – sort of between short and shorter.

Rooster

Me, henpecked? Bah!

Lately I have been thinking about having it styled differently. A boy’s cut. Maybe it will help with my gender dysphoria, I reason.

I mentioned it to B, who just gave me a speculative look. After her talk to her therapist about allowing me to be myself and wear my boots, I’m sure she still has her doubts about letting me off the leash, but she’s not cackling about (sorry, voicing) it. (Me, henpecked?! NO WAYS!)

After scratching around on the net for a suitable style, I realized I’ve been in the closest in more ways than one. There are a gazillion sites about hairstyles.Hen's teeth

Not surprisingly, most of the those sites about hairstyles are intended for women – vanity, thy name is woman… but the sites for men’s hairstyles are not as scarce as hen’s teeth. The metro man and all that…

(How did all the fowls end up in this post?!)

First of all, you are supposed to take the shape of your face into consideration when planning a hairstyle. To be able to determine your face shape, there are some measuring and maths involved – damn, I suck at maths! WikiHow luckily made it a bit easier.

Then you have to consider the right haircut for your face shape. Having learnt that I have a square face, I apparently should be looking at a tight, short haircut, similar to the guys below. Hmmm, now if only I could get the beard at the salon as well… (Did you know the “beard” of a rooster is called a “wattle?” No need to thank me for this bit of useless information!)

Square face

So, at the end of the working year, with about two weeks vacation to let it grow out a bit, I could be making the mistake of my life, but I’m spreading my wings – umm… having a short haircut.

Maybe I must just follow the example of students on campus and have it coloured blue or postbox red in addition, just to see the look on B’s face. Nah, maybe next time, a new style is radical enough for this ol’e quinquagenarian. (I have learnt another new word along the way!).

With that short a haircut, I’ll probably look like a pear with a pea on top, but then at least I’ll know what it looks and feels like.

It is better to regret the things you have done, than the things you haven’t done, no?

Dorky haircut

Author: Kris

Hi! I'm Kris. I live in South Africa with my life partner of 27+ years, whom I call B or Madam in my posts. We have a Pug dog child, Remi, also known as Pooch, who has graced and enriched our lives for the past 12 years.

18 thoughts on “Crow(n)ing glory

  1. Just go for it. The worst that can happen is you won’t like it and then you can grow it back. Also, I just followed your links and found out what I already knew: I have an oblong face. I think my current haircut goes pretty well with it. I might keep it for a whole year or longer. 😀

    Like

  2. My hairstyle has changed very little in the past 30+ years as well and I’ve been threatening to go to a barber for a buzz for years. Maybe I’ll get my courage up soon too. I hope you go for it.

    Like

  3. The only difference between a good haircut and a bad one, is about six weeks! 🙂 Good on you for leaping!

    Like

  4. I’ve worn my hair short since I was a kid, and I’ve been using the same guy to cut my hair (unisex salon) for while. All you need to do is make sure that he understands you don’t want a women’s pixie cut – no oddball long strands or long pointed shapes where your sideburns would be.

    The other thing to consider is how you feel about using “product” because a lot of men’s styles here require it to get the hair to stay. If you need “wash, towel dry, and go” let him know. I’m somewhat pomade averse, and I have very straight hair, so I tend to end up with a scissor cut not a buzz cut.

    There is a part of me that really wants to go to the high end barber (good looking gay male clients) down the street from me, but I am afraid to do it. I don’t want to insult Alan (my haircutter) and I’m afraid it will be yet one more thing to piss off Donna. I have the same problem with getting new glasses (frames). Good luck.

    Like

    • Thanks for the tips and wishes, Jamie. Yeah, I notice some sports guys’ hair stays in place even after a hard game. I don’t want to spend money on hair products, that will sure put the missus in a foul mood! Hmmm, I have not thought about the glasses. Another bridge to cross, another boundary to push.

      Like

  5. I finally changed my hairstyle a couple of months ago after having the same cut for many years. I couldn’t be more happy with it! I told my hairstylist that I wanted something butch, nothing fem at all . . . and a bit sexy, if that was at all possible. Afterwards, all my gal pal said for the whole night was, “wow.” When I asked her to expand on that, she replied, “wow. . .that’s really short.” She’s come around and likes it now too. Cheers.

    Like

  6. Cutting my hair is the best thing I’ve done! Instead of the math and rules, I went to a hairdresser that I trust, and that can do men’s hair, told them what I was looking for (looking like a normal man my own age) and let them loose. They have been educated an I have not, I trust them to know their job… It may take a few more cuts before I’m 100% satisfied, but it’s getting there!

    Like

  7. You won’t know if it works, if you never try? Hair grows back…. And that’s what hats are for.

    Like

  8. It’s amazing the bravery it takes to get a dramatic haircut change. Hope you like the results; I am sure you will.

    Like